National Medals & Awards

Logan Medal

The highest award of the Geological Association of Canada is presented to an individual for sustained distinguished achievement in Canadian earth science.

National Medals & Awards

W.W. Hutchison Medal

The W.W. Hutchison Medal is named after Dr. William W. Hutchison in recognition of his many contributions to Canadian and international geoscience. The medal is awarded to a young individual for recent exceptional advances in Canadian earth science research.

National Medals & Awards

E.R.Ward Neale Medal

The Neale Medal, named after the legendary E.R. Ward Neale, is awarded to an individual for sustained outstanding efforts in sharing earth science with Canadians.

National Medals & Awards

J. Willis Ambrose Medal

The Ambrose medal, named after the first GAC® President, J. Willis Ambrose, is awarded to an individual for sustained dedicated service to the Canadian earth science community.

National Medals & Awards

Eric Mountjoy Exchange Award

The Eric Mountjoy Exchange Award is available to encourage the exchange of young geoscientists between Quebec and other parts of Canada.

National Medals & Awards

Mary-Claire Ward Geoscience Award

The Mary-Claire Ward Geoscience Award is awarded annually to a graduate student at a Canadian university whose thesis incorporates geoscience mapping as a significant component.

National Medals & Awards

Yves O. Fortier Earth Science Journalism Award

The Yves O. Fortier Earth Science Journalism Award is awarded for excellence in journalistic presentation of earth science in the newsprint media.

Student Awards

Jerome H. Remick Poster Awards

The purpose of the Remick Poster Awards is to acknowledge the growing use of posters as a legitimate geoscience communication vehicle, and to encourage higher standards by recognizing the best posters at any given meeting.

Division/Section Awards

Career Achievement Award

This award is made in recognition of career achievement in the field of volcanology and/or igneous petrology. Candidates are judged on their lifetime scientific contribution.

Division/Section Awards

Leopold Gelinas Medal

The Léopold Gélinas presents annually three medals for the most outstanding theses, written by Canadians or submitted to Canadian universities, which comprise material at least 50% related to volcanology and igneous petrology.

Division/Section Awards

J. Ross Mackay Award

The J. Ross Mackay Award, presented annually by the Canadian Geomorphology Research Group, in recognition of a significant achievement by a young geomorphologist within Canada.

Division/Section Awards

Olav Slaymaker Awards

The Olav Slaymaker Awards are presented for the best student oral paper and best student poster presented at the CGRG Annual Meeting.

View More

GAC-MAC Annual Meeting

Registration Now Open

Learn More