J. Willis Ambrose Medal

J. Willis Ambrose Medal

The Ambrose medal, named after the first GAC® President, J. Willis Ambrose, is awarded to an individual for sustained dedicated service to the Canadian earth science community.


2019 J. Willis Ambrose Medal

Dr. Carolyn (‘Lyn) Anglin (Imperial Metals Corporation)

“For her outstanding contributions to the scientific management of public- and private-sector geoscientific research and development, and for her long-term volunteer contributions to Canadian geoscientific organizations, including the Geological Association of Canada.”


Previous Award Winners

2018       Peter T. Bobrowsky

2017       Stephen T. Johnston

2016       Scott Swinden

2015       Sandra Barr

2014       Brendan Murphy

2013       Simon Hanmer

2012       John Clague

2011       Grant Abbott

2010       Brian Jones

2009       Ed Debicki

2008       Frank Blackwood

2007       Robert F. Martin

2006       Graham Williams

2005       Godfrey S. Nowlan

2004       Ian McIlreath

2003       Mary-Claire Ward

2002       Roger Macqueen

2001       D. St-Onge

2000       G.D. Williams

1999       A. Achab