W.W. Hutchison Medal

W.W. Hutchison Medal

The W.W. Hutchison Medal is named after Dr. William W. Hutchison in recognition of his many contributions to Canadian and international geoscience. The medal is awarded to a young individual for recent exceptional advances in Canadian earth science research.

2021 W.W. Hutchison Medalist

Dr. Vincent van Hinsberg (McGill University)

“For his major contributions to the geological sciences by using mineral chemistry and petrology to address issues ranging from the composition of subduction fluids to the nature of subduction during the Archean. ”

The 2021-22 Hutchison Lecture Tour begins on October 26, 2021!


The deadline for National Medal nomination forms is November 30th.


Previous Award Winners

2020       Shahin Dashtgard

2019       Brian Kendall

2018       Gordon Osinski

2017       Christie Rowe

2016       Stephen Piercey

2015       Murray Gingras

2014       Ali Polat

2013       Duane Froese

2012       Galen Halverson

2011       Anton Chakhmouradian

2010       Octavian Catuneanu

2009       Michael Caldwell

2008       James MacEachern

2007       Jeremy Richards

2006       John Gosse

2005       Alan J. Anderson

2004       Shoufa Lin