Logan Medal

Logan Medal

The highest award of the Geological Association of Canada is presented to an individual for sustained distinguished achievement in Canadian earth science.


2019 Logan Medal

Dr. Cees van Staal (Geological Survey of Canada)

“For achieving unprecedented resolution in orogenic analysis, through integrated structural, stratigraphic and metamorphic geology; mafic and felsic rock geochemistry; high-precision geochronology; seismic sounding; and comparison with active Circum-Pacific tectonics, as applied to the Canadian Appalachian orogen and its extensions.”


Previous Award Winners

2018       Barbara Sherwood Lollar

2017       Roy Hyndman

2016       Brian Jones

2015       Richard Grieve

2014       Andrew Miall

2013       George Pemberton

2012       Robert Kerrich

2011       Anthony E. Williams-Jones

2010       Christopher Barnes

2009       Noel James

2008       James M. Franklin

2007       John Clague

2006       Claude Hillaire-Marcel

2005       Ron M. Clowes

2004       Stewart Blusson

2003       Fred Longstaffe

2002       James Monger

2001       S.E. Calvert

2000       H. Gabrielse

1999       R. G. Walker

1998       D.F. Sangster