Eric Mountjoy Exchange Award

Eric Mountjoy Exchange Award

The Eric Mountjoy Exchange Award is available to encourage the exchange of registered geoscience students or post-doctoral fellows between Quebec and other parts of Canada, and vice versa.


2021 Eric Mountjoy Exchange Award Winner

Collin Burelle (M.Sc. Candidate, University of Saskatchewan)

“Collin’s thesis project at the University of Saskatchewan is focused on studying permeable reactive barrier technologies applied to neutral mine drainage sites, and leach testing of waste rock. The exchange with the Université du Québec en Abitibi-Témiscamingue (UQAT) will allow Collin to learn about other techniques and technologies used to remediate and monitor mine sites across Canada by participating in a mine reclamation field school. Over the course of four weeks, he will visit a dozen active, closed, and abandoned mine sites, learn about mine site remediation and reclamation techniques and performance evaluation, and obtain training in field techniques. This exchange will provide insights into research approaches that can be translated into the experimental design of his MSc research as well as allow him to obtain hands on experience with field skills in remediation.”


Previous Award Winners

2020     Chimira Andres

2019      Katie Maloney, University of Toronto, Mississauga

2018       Clara Waelkens, McGill University

2017       not awarded

2016       Timothy Gibson, McGill University

2015       not awarded

2014       Antoine Caté, Institut national de la recherche scientifique