Mary-Claire Ward Geoscience Award

Mary-Claire Ward Geoscience Award

The Mary-Claire Ward Geoscience Award was created to honour the memory of Ms. Ward. The intent of the award is to encourage and support a graduate student in Canada whose thesis is likely to increase our knowledge of the geological history of Canada through mapping.

The award, comprising $5,000 and a certificate, is given annually and honours the memory of Mary-Claire Ward who died in 2004. At the time of her death Mrs. Ward was the chair of the PDAC’s geoscience committee, chairman of Watts Griffis McOuat Ltd., and a past president of the Geological Association of Canada. She was a passionate advocate for the geosciences in Canada.

The award is administered by the Geological Association of Canada (GAC), the Prospectors & Developers Association of Canada (PDAC), the National Geological Surveys Committee, the Canadian Geological Foundation, and Watts, Griffis and McOuat Ltd.

The Mary-Claire Ward Geoscience Award is awarded annually to a graduate student at a Canadian university whose thesis incorporates geoscience mapping as a significant component.


The deadline for submission is December 15.

For more information contact Krishana Michaud

2023 Mary-Claire Ward Geoscience Award Winner

Darius Kamal (University of British Columbia)


“For his PhD, Darius’ research aims to establish how rock deformation during crustal shortening events impacts the distribution, preservation, and grade of sediment-hosted massive sulfide (SHMS) Zn-Pb deposits. It is focused on the region of the Selwyn basin that stretches along the border of Yukon and Northwest Territories, around and between the Howard’s Pass and MacMillan Pass deposits. Mapping will focus on 4D (temporal and spatial) geometric and kinematic analysis.”


Previous Award Winners

2022: Benjamin Neil, University of Alberta

2021: Rebecca Canam, Simon Fraser University

2020: Kendra Zammit, Laurentian University

2019: Andrew Steiner, University of British Columbia

2018: Eric Thiessen, Simon Fraser University

2017: Holly Steenkamp, Laval University

2016: Jordan McDivitt, Laurentian University

2015: Jesse Reimink, University of Alberta

2014: Diane Skipton, University of Ottawa

2013: Danielle Thomson, Carleton University

2012: Deanne van Rooyen, Carleton University

2011: Brett Hamilton, University of Calgary

2010: Joel Cubley, University of Calgary

2009: Elizabeth Westberg, Simon Fraser University

2008: Jean-François Ravenelle, Laval University

2007: Andrew Parmenter, University of New Brunswick

2006: Tony Barresi, Dalhousie University

2005: Michelle DeWolfe, Laurentian University