Dave Elliott Best Paper Prize

Dave Elliott Best Paper Prize

2018 Winner

Renaud R. Soucy La Roche, Laurent Godin, John M. Cottle and Dawn A. Kellet, 2018:
Preservation of the early evolution of the Himalayan middle crust in foreland klippen: Insights from the Karnali klippe, west Nepal. Tectonics, 37(5), pp. 1161-1193.

2018 Honourable Mentions

Melosh, B.L., Rowe, C.D., Gerbi, C., Smit, L. and Macey, P., 2018: Seismic cycle feedbacks in a mid-crustal shear zone. Journal of Structural Geology, 112, pp. 95-111.

Guilmette, C., Smit, M.A., van Hinsbergen, D.J., Gürer, D., Corfu, F., Charette, B., Maffione, M., Rabeau, O. and Savard, D., 2018: Forced subduction initiation recorded in the sole and crust of the Semail Ophiolite of Oman. Nature Geoscience, 11(9), p. 688.


The award is given by the Canadian Tectonics Group to recognize papers written by authors based in Canada or dealing with Canadian topics and with a publication date in the previous calendar year.  Priority will be given to peer-reviewed publications. Submissions from the membership are also welcome and should include a PDF file of the paper format. Submissions by authors will also be considered. We will appoint a small committee of individuals not involved with any of the shortlisted papers to review the shortlisted papers and select a winner.


These submissions should be sent before March 15, to Dawn Kellett (CTG Chair): dawn.kellett@canada.ca