National Medals & Awards

Logan Medal

The highest award of the Geological Association of Canada is presented to an individual for sustained distinguished achievement in Canadian earth science.

National Medals & Awards

W.W. Hutchison Medal

The W.W. Hutchison Medal is named after Dr. William W. Hutchison in recognition of his many contributions to Canadian and international geoscience. The medal is awarded to a young individual for recent exceptional advances in Canadian earth science research.

National Medals & Awards

E.R. Ward Neale Medal

The Neale Medal, named after the legendary E.R. Ward Neale, is awarded to an individual for sustained outstanding efforts in sharing earth science with Canadians.

National Medals & Awards

J. Willis Ambrose Medal

The Ambrose medal, named after the first GAC® President, J. Willis Ambrose, is awarded to an individual for sustained dedicated service to the Canadian earth science community.

National Medals & Awards

Eric Mountjoy Exchange Award

The Eric Mountjoy Exchange Award is available to encourage the exchange of young geoscientists between Quebec and other parts of Canada.

National Medals & Awards

Mary-Claire Ward Geoscience Award

The Mary-Claire Ward Geoscience Award is awarded annually to a graduate student at a Canadian university whose thesis incorporates geoscience mapping as a significant component.

National Medals & Awards

The Howard Street Robinson Medal

The Howard Street Robinson Medal recognizes a respected and well-spoken geoscientist who will further the scientific study of Precambrian Geology and/or Metal Mining through a presentation of a distinguished lecture across Canada.

National Medals & Awards

Yves O. Fortier Earth Science Journalism Award

The Yves O. Fortier Earth Science Journalism Award is awarded for excellence in journalistic presentation of earth science in the newsprint media.

GAC-MAC Annual Meeting

Registration Now Open

Learn More